Home Page
Home Page


Our amazing children and staff welcome you to our school!


Our Governors

The role of the governing body is absolutely key to the effectiveness of a school. School governors are people who want to make a positive contribution to children’s education. They provide strategic leadership and accountability in schools


Governors’ Duties

The Governors have statutory duties, as follows:

  • To ensure delivery of the National Curriculum.
  • To oversee the annual budget. Through the Resources Committee the Governing Body controls and monitors the expenditure of the school. Day to day decisions are delegated to the Headteacher and the Senior Leadership Team.
  • To be kept informed on all aspects of the day-to-day running and organisation of the school.
  • To take decisions on the appropriate levels of staff and to make appointments, where necessary,
  • To inspect the condition and repair of the school premises.
  • To determine the use of the premises out of school hours.


Governor's Meetings

The full Governing Body meets once per term, or six times a year. An average meeting will typically review previous minutes, discuss reports from committees and from the Headteacher. Any new policies are reviewed and approved and, following discussion, decisions may be approved as a result of proposals from committees and the Headteacher. A number of these policies are available for you to view on the website.

The following committees meet regularly throughout the year to enable governors to carry out their business in the most effective manner and share the governing body’s responsibilities:


Performance and Standards Committee

  • Curriculum
  • Teaching & Learning
  • Special Education Needs
  • Ethos & Values
  • Data & Performance
  • Safeguarding
  • School Development Plan
  • School's Self Evaluation


Parents and Community Committee

  • School Profile
  • Communications
  • Events
  • Stakeholder Engagement/Liaison
  • Pastoral Care
  • School Development Plan
  • School's Self Evaluation


Resources Committee

  • Finance including Pupil Premium & Sports Premium
  • Pay
  • HR & Personnel
  • Staff training
  • Performance Management
  • Health & Safety
  • Premises
  • Contract Monitoring – cleaning, catering & landscaping
  • School Development Plan
  • School's Self Evaluation


Current Governors

Local Authority Governor- VACANCY, 

Parent Governor's -Miss Lynn Pope, Mrs Emma Smith

Co-opted Governors -  Mr Dan Beard (Chair), Mrs Louise Bailey, Ms Vicky Barnes,Mr Peter Lucas, Mr Matt Bishop

Staff Governor -Miss Natalie Williamson

Foundation Governors - Rev Clare Edwards (Ex-Officio), Mr Tony Hughes (Vice-chair)

Headteacher- Mr Simon Manning


LA Appointed Additional Governors - Ms Rosalyn Sykes, Ms Tanya Haigh, Ms Charlotte Hughes


Additional Attendees

Associate Members-  Mr Terry Baldwin

Clerk to the Governors - Mrs Kealey Broddle

Clerk to the Committees- Mrs Mandy Webb


Nominated Governors

Nominated governors will take responsibility for the following areas:

Special Educational Needs and Disabilities – Emma Smith

Safeguarding and Child Protection – Dan Beard

Children in Care – Emma Smith

Pupil Premium– Vicky Barnes

Health and Safety – Tony Hughes

School Website – Vicky Barnes


Meeting Dates 2021/22


  • 29th September 2021
  • 24th November 2021
  • 26th January 2022
  • 23rd March 2022
  • 18th May 2022
  • 13th July 2022


Please Note : Hybrid meetings are currently taking place


Governing Body Meetings at 7.00pm


Resources Committee Meetings prior to main meeting at 4.30pm


P&S/P&S Committee meetings on the Thursday before the main meeting from 4.30pm






Summary of Disqualification Regulations for Governors

Please note: No members of school staff receive a salary of £100k or more.

Governors Budget Plan 22-23

Governors Budget Plan 21/22

Governors Budget Plan 20/21

Governors Budget Plan 19/20

Governors Budget Plan 18/19

Instrument of Government

Should you have any questions regarding any aspects of the Governance of our school please do not hesitate to contact either the Chair of Governors -

 or the Clerk to the Governors -